The Honourable

Art Eggleton

Chair, Global City Leaders Advisory Board, World Council on City Data

Senator Art Eggleton is the Chair of the Global City Leaders Advisory Board at the World Council on City Data.

Senator Eggleton has served the people of Canada and the City of Toronto in elected office for over 40 years. He served as Mayor of the City of Toronto for 11 years (1980 – 1991) and is the longest serving Mayor in the City’s history. In 2015 he was appointed by the Mayor of Toronto to be Chair of the Mayor's Task Force on Toronto Community Housing

He served 22 years as a member of Toronto City Council and the Metropolitan Toronto Council, most of those years on the Executive Committees of both Councils. Between 1973 and 1980, he served as City Budget Chief, the member of Council responsible for financial matters.

In addition, he served on the Metropolitan Toronto Police Commission, the Board of the Canadian National Exhibition, and numerous committees and task forces dealing with community issues.

In recognition of his service to the city, Mr. Eggleton received Toronto’s highest honour, the Civic Award of Merit, in 1992.

Art Eggleton served 11 years in the Parliament of Canada as the member for York Centre in the City of Toronto. First elected in 1993, he was soon thereafter appointed to Cabinet where he served in the following positions:

  • President of the Treasury Board & Minister Responsible for Infrastructure (1993-1996)
  • Minister for International Trade (1996-1997)
  • Minister of National Defence (1997-2002)
  • Vice-Chairman of Cabinet Committee on Economic Policy (1997-2002)

On March 24, 2005, Art Eggleton was appointed to the Senate of Canada. He currently serves as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology and is a member of the Standing Committee on Transportation and Communications and the Human Rights Committee.

Art Eggleton also serves in various volunteer capacities and is an honorary member, or member, of several non-profit boards and advisory committees.